Names

19 Sep

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

(Writing prompt from plinky.com)

The meaning of Kelly is Brave.  My Great-grandmother on the paternal side’s name was Cornelia, but everyone called her Kelly.  Thats where my name came from.  My middle name is my maternal grandmothers name, Elizabeth.  The last name, obviously, came from my fathers side of the family.

I don’t think it suits me.  Bravery seems to think you don’t have anxiety.  I have lots of anxiety.  I don’t feel brave.

I do not have children, so I cannot tell you about their names.

One Response to “Names”

  1. anniekitching October 3, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    My great grandmother’s name is Cornelia and I LOVE that name. My aunt was given that name and (due to how she pronounced it as a baby) she was always called “Neenie” (which I love). Another cousin Cornelia ended up hating the “Connie” nickname and insisted on “Nellie” when she got old enough. If it were me, I’d want to be called by the whole, lovely name, or “Nelia”.

    I was actually named “Shirley”. My mother was critically ill after I was born and when they came in to ask what the baby’s name was, she couldn’t remember what they had decided….I guess they hadn’t really decided, so the name that entered her mind was the name of a neighbor (Shirley) who was a nice person. When I got home, of course, that was NOT the name that they really wanted to call me, so they started calling me “Anne”. How that got changed to Annie I really do not know, because I realized with shock a few years ago that my parents actually call me “Anne” – never “Annie”. But, “Annie” is who I feel like!.

Leave a Reply

