Pot Pie!

11 Jul

So I had a good day today (7-9-14) – woke up at 3pm, lazed around, checked my email at about 4:30p, found out/remembered I had a BarCampGR meeting at GRMakers at 6p, and a social afterwards, so I got dressed and ready to go and headed to GRMakers. I was only planning on staying for an hour or two – for the meeting and to hang out a bit. I ended up staying till about 9:30, and Jelly brought me to Meijer (he needed to do some shopping as well) and then he brought me home as well. Thanks Jelly!

Once home, I put groceries away, then decided to make Pot Pie! I used Ree Drummond’s recipe.

I started by prepping/cutting my veggies – onion, celery, and carrots. All had to be finely diced, and 1/2 cup of each.

P02794

(Hint: to get finely diced carrots, i started out with matchstick carrots)

 

P02795

 

Prep everything else while you’re at it – get your broth poured, the cream poured, chicken cooked/thawed if you already cooked it ahead of time like you were supposed to (oops!), take your frozen pie crusts out of the freezer, find the salt and pepper, chop/de-leaf the thyme, etc.

P02786

 

P02784

P02791

P02775

Melt your butter, add your veggies, saute them for a bit.

P02793

P02792

Make sure your chicken is cooked, shred it.

P02790

Add shredded meat to the veggies, dump the flour on, mix it up, cook it for a bit.

P02789

P02788

P02787

Add broth, wine, and heavy cream. Add frozen veggies here as well (I added frozen peas and frozen beans).

P02785

P02783

P02782

Salt, Pepper, Thyme go in next.

P02777

Let it boil for a bit.

Taste test it to make sure it’s good. Alexia did that.

Put it pie plates, and put crusts on top. If you own a deep dish pie plate, you’d be able to get it all done at once.

P02773

P02774

Cook at 400*F for 30-40 minutes.  Mine were done at 30 minutes each.

P02769

P02767

Enjoy!

P02764

P02763

Leave a Reply

